Nishikori wins the title in Brisbane after losing 9 consecutive finals

Kei beats Danill Medvedev in 3 sets.

Nishikori wins the title Brisbane

Kei Nishikori finally wins a tournament after losing 9 consecutive finals.

The Japanese sensation managed to win his last title in 2016 (February) when he conquered the title in Memphis. Then Kei lost 4 finals in 2016 (Miami, Barcelona, Toronto, and Basel), 2 finals in 2017 (Brisbane and Buenos Aires), and 3 finals in 2018 (Monte-Carlo, Tokyo, and Vienna).

[su_button url=”″ background=”#ef862d” size=”6″ wide=”yes” icon=”icon: trophy”]See the list of Nishikori’s titles[/su_button]

In Brisbane, Kei was opposed to Daniil Medvedev in the final. The Russian has recently defeated the Japanese in the final in Tokyo and Kei was desperate for reversing the outcome in Australia.

After splitting the first 2 sets, the Japanese started extremely well in the decider to grab a strong 5-1 lead that paved the way or Kei to win the match 6-4 3-6 6-2. The match ended after 1 hour and 55 minutes.

This was Kei’s 12th career title. He couldn’t start this season in a better way.

Embed from Getty Images